Menu Close

Basic Introduction to the 7 Chakras and their energy system

Basic Introduction to the 7 Chakras and their energy system

Although there are many religious groups around the world that have been working with the Chakra energy centres since the ancient times, The Chakra terminology used today is the brainchild of the Hindus.

The word “Chakra” means “wheel” in Sanskrit and is also described as intersections connected to our mind, body and spirit.  There are supposed to be hundreds of these Chakras or energy centres in our body although only seven are considered as of any importance. By getting an in-depth knowledge of the 7 chakras, it is possible to understand what makes your internal system work which in turn can help towards healing your mind and body.

It must be understood however that this is not something you can learn in a few days because even your life might not be enough to understand everything.  It is, however, a start so,  let’s first see what the 7 important Chakras are; their colour codes and how they are connected to our life centres.
Root/Base Chakra – This is the first of the chakras, red in colour and is located at the base of the spine. Its development begins at birth and no one can survive without the Root Chakra.
Sacral Chakra -The second chakra is found above the pelvic bowl and is orange in colour. The development of the sacral chakra begins in childhood and is connected to relationships and sexuality.
Solar Plexus Chakra – The third chakra is located in your solar plexus, is yellow in colour and starts developing at puberty. This chakra is connected to your willpower and provides you with the ability to make decisions by expressing yourself.
Heart Chakra – The fourth Chakra, and the one most difficult to keep functioning properly,   is located at the centre of the chest and is green in colour. This chakra is connected to our relationships that go beyond physical levels, which is not just about love.
Throat Chakra – The fifth chakra is based on the neck in the throat and is blue in colour. It is connected to our communication and in particular to speaking the truth and the need to say what must be said.
Third Eye Chakra – The sixth chakra is located above and between the eyes close to the pituitary gland and is deep purple in colour. This chakra is all about opening your mind to fresh ideas and having the foresight to make decisions.
Crown Chakra – The seventh and the last of the chakras, it is on the top of the head located at a spot close to where your soft spot used to be. It connects to the power and energy of the universe and understanding that there’s more powerful energy out there than what an individual has.
These are the main chakras from which energy is transmitted to our system.  It is similar to our nervous system that sends the signals to various parts of our body so that we may perform the tasks we have to. With the chakras, however, energy is radiated outwards and surrounds the body to strengthen the waves of energy that radiates from the atmosphere. When you get to learn more about the chakra energy, you will be able to use it where it’s most needed to heal your minds and bodies.

Similar Reads

Other Topics

20 of the most common types of witches, so that you can get a better understanding of the different paths and specialities within witchcraft.

20 Types of Witches

Witchcraft is a rich and diverse spiritual practice that has been around for centuries. It encompasses a wide range of beliefs, practices, and traditions, and

Read More »
Witchcraft involves the use of magic, spells, and rituals for various purposes, such as healing, divination, protection, and influencing people or events. At its core, witchcraft is a way of connecting with the world and the spirits that inhabit it in order to bring about positive change.

What is Witchcraft

Witchcraft is a spiritual practice that has been around for thousands of years. It’s found in various cultures and traditions throughout the world. It involves

Read More »